12 Sept 2017 - Canterbury team named for Ranfurly Shield defence against Counties Manukau

 The Canterbury side will play at home again tomorrow night, when they host Counties Manukau in a Ranfurly Shield defence at AMI Stadium.

Head Coach Glenn Delaney has named his team for the match, which features five changes - three in the forward pack and two in the backs - from the team that took the field against Southland on Friday night.

Siate Tokolahi and Oliver Jager will switch again this week, with Tokolahi taking a spot on the bench, and Jager to start in the front row. Tom Sanders returns to the starting line up this week, with Reed Prinsep moving to the bench, and Billy Harmon will start in the No. 7 jersey.

In the back line, Rob Thompson returns at second five-eighth, and Poasa Waqanibau will start on the right wing.

The last time these two sides met was in the Premiership semi-final last season, with Canterbury progressing to the final following a 22-7 win in Christchurch.

"Counties are a classy side, who will be determined to come down to Christchurch and take the Ranfurly Shield from us. It was one win apiece last season and we have shown a huge amount of respect for them with our preparation this week.

"We know we will need to be very diligent in our processes if we are to come away with the right result tomorrow night. It's going to be an 80-minute battle but we're ready for it", Delaney said.

Kick off is at 7:35pm, Wednesday 13 September, at AMI Stadium in Christchurch.


Canterbury team to play Counties Manukau:

1.    Alex Hodgman

2.    Nathan Vella

3.    Oliver Jager

4.    Mitchell Dunshea

5.    Dominic Bird

6.    Tom Sanders

7.    Billy Harmon

8.    Luke Whitelock (C)

9.    Mitchell Drummond

10.  Richie Mo'unga

11.  Braydon Ennor

12.  Rob Thompson

13.  Tim Bateman (VC)

14.  Poasa Waqanibau

15.  George Bridge



16.  Nick Werahiko

17.  Chris Gawler

18.  Siate Tokolahi

19.  Hamish Dalzell

20.  Reed Prinsep

21.  Ere Enari

22.  Brett Cameron

23.  Josh McKay

Latest News